JAVA: Using Java 6 instead of Java 5 in Mac OS X

Using Mac OS X 10.5.8

I was getting some UnsupportedClassVersionError when I tried running my application in Mac OS X. This error means I’m trying to use code compiled in a Java version not supported by my JVM.

To check Java version, I used “java – version” that told me I’m using Java 1.5. My code is compiled in JDK 1.6. So I tried to find out how to upgrade my JVM version to 1.6.

So, I found out that Java 6 is already installed, I just needed to run this command:

/Applications/Utilities/Java\ Preferences.app/Contents/MacOS/Java\ Preferences

and drag Java 6 to the first position.

Thanks to:

http://meus5cents.blogspot.com/2009/04/java-6-no-mac-os-x-leopard.html

This entry was posted in configuration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment